Need advise on cheap used car!

Talk about car reviews & comparisons, buying advice & suggestions, spy shots etc.
autofreak
UB Junior Member

Post by autofreak » 14 Jan 2014, 9:18 am

Hello friends, this is Raj. I am new to this forum.

Very soon, I will be relocating to Dubai and like everyone else, I will be looking for a car. Now, my budget is not much. At max, I would be willing AED 45000, can be stretched to AED 50000 for a very good car. The reason I am thinking of going for a used car is because I would get a better used car in that budget, compared to a tiny and underpowered new car.

Now, I am an auto enthusiast back home and have been driving since many years but I am new to the UAE car market. I am single and I would like a car with the following priorities:

1) Has to be stylish
2) Has to be decently powerful, yet should not burn a hole in my pocket with fuel bills
3) I do not care about extreme reliability, but atleast spares should be easily available and moderately cheap
4) I am a big time SUV fan. I wont really go off roading with it, so I do not need a hardcore 4x4.

I am not looking for very old cars. I am okay with car post 2008 and with less than 75000 kms on the odo.

Can you friends please help me with some suitable suggestions? Right now, I am looking at used SUVs from Ford, Toyota and Mitsubishi. Toyota seems to be too expensive.

The only sedan I liked is the Mitsubishi Lancer EX, especially the GT. How good or bad is that car? Is the 1.6 underpowered? Is the GT worth the extra money?

The second car I like is the Ford Mustang! I know its a sports car but will owning a Mustang be decently affordable?

Finally, what would you guys suggest? Buying a sedan like Lancer EX, sports coupe like Mustang or a SUV like Captiva, Explorer, etc.

Max
UB Junior Member

Post by Max » 15 Jan 2014, 5:06 pm

Autofreak,
looks like a hard decision to make, based on the parameters u mentioned...